Jalen Hurts, Patrick Mahomes favored


The Philadelphia Eagles and Kansas City Chiefs punched their ticket to Super Bowl LVII on Sunday setting up a matchup between the No. 1 seed in each respective conference.

As is tradition, the Super Bowl MVP odds highlight the likelihood that one of Jalen Hurts or Patrick Mahomes will receive the recognition as it’s a historically quarterback driven award, but there are playmakers on both sides of the ball that can make worthy cases.

Not to mention, just last year Cooper Kupp won Super Bowl MVP, so be careful blindly betting either quarterback to win Super Bowl MVP.

Here are the early odds for Super Bowl MVP from DraftKings Sportsbook:

Super Bowl LVII Odds

Jalen Hurts, Patrick Mahomes Favored to Win Super Bowl MVP

Hurts and Mahomes top the odds board and for good reason, this award is dominated by quarterbacks. 31 of the 56 MVP’s have been quarterback and six of the last ten have go to the winning team’s signal caller. Given the fact that Hurts and Mahomes are the engine to each team, it makes sense that their odds are tied to the team’s moneyline.

However, we have seen twice in the past five years wide receivers take home the honors behind outstanding play and a few turnovers from the winning team’s quarterback. Julian Edelman of the Patriots and Cooper Kupp of the Rams were the consistent top weapon for their respective teams and outshined their quarterback’s underwhelming stat lines, propelling them to Super Bowl MVP.

This year, Travis Kelce of the Chiefs is the third choice to win the honor. He is Mahomes’ favorite target by a wide margin and Mahomes will still likely to be effected by his high ankle sprain to some degree. Can the Eagles defense make enough plays to slow down Mahomes stat line so that Kelce shines?

What about for the Eagles, who saw the likes of Ja’Marr Chase and Tee Higgins take the top off the Kansas City secondary in the AFC Championship Game, will A.J. Brown be in for a big game in the Super Bowl?

Lastly, it’s tough for defenders to get the nod for Super Bowl MVP, you likely need to force a turnover or two and potentially even score a touchdown, but there are some fearsome pass rushers on the field like Chris Jones of the Chiefs, who had two sacks in the AFC title game, and Haason Reddick for the Eagles, who also had a pair of sacks and forced a fumble against the 49ers.

Who will get the nod come Super Bowl Sunday? Place your bets by opting into these sportsbooks promo offers!

Odds refresh periodically and are subject to change.


Source link