close
Sports

Kamaru Usman vs. Leon Edwards weigh-in results


UFC 278: Kamaru Usman vs. Leon Edwards official weigh-in results.

We now find ourselves about 36 hours away from the start of UFC 278, which will feature the sixth welterweight championship defense for Kamaru Usman, as he faces the challenge of Leon Edwards in the evening’s main event.

But first, all fighters competing at UFC 278 must pass through the official weigh-ins.

Usman and Edwards previously squared off at a UFC Fight Night event in December 2015, which Usman won via unanimous decision.

That first fight with Edwards marked Usman’s first fight after winning season 21 of The Ultimate Fighter. And it has all been up for Usman ever since, undefeated in the Octagon and now looking for his 20th straight win in professional MMA, having not lost since his second pro fight in 2013.

After defeating Tyron Woodley for the welterweight title at UFC 235, Usman has successfully retained it twice against Colby Covington, twice against Jorge Masvidal and once against Gilbert Burns.

Edwards, however, has gained momentum in his own right, having not dropped a fight since the loss to Usman. Edwards has won nine of his 10 most recent contests, most recently defeating Nate Diaz at UFC 263 last year. His one non-victory in that stretch was a bout with Belal Muhammad that ended in a no-contest due to an accidental eye poke.

Paulo Costa and Luke Rockhold face off in the UFC 278 co-main event, with Jose Aldo and Merab Dvalishvili competing in a featured bantamweight contenders’ bout.

 

Official weigh-in results for UFC 278: Kamaru Usman vs. Leon Edwards [UPDATED LIVE]

UFC 278 Main Card (ESPN+ PPV, 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)

  • Kamaru Usman vs. Leon Edwards – UFC welterweight championship
  • Paulo Costa vs. Luke Rockhold
  • Jose Aldo vs. Merab Dvalishvili
  • Wu Yanan vs. Lucie Pudilova
  • Tyson Pedro vs. Harry Hunsucker

UFC 278 Preliminary Card (ABC/ESPN/ESPN+, 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)

  • Marcin Tybura vs. Alexander Romanov
  • Leonardo Santos vs. Jared Gordon
  • Sean Woodson vs. Luis Saldana
  • Miranda Maverick vs. Shanna Young

UFC 278 Early Prelim Card (ESPN/ESPN+/UFC Fight Pass, 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)

  • A.J. Fletcher vs. Ange Loosa
  • Amir Albazi vs. Francisco Figueiredo
  • Aori Qileng vs. Jay Perrin
  • Daniel Lacerda vs. Victor Altamirano

UFC 278: Kamaru Usman vs. Leon Edwards takes place on Saturday, Aug. 20, 2022, live from the Vivint Arena, in Salt Lake City, UT. Follow along with FanSided MMA, who is on site, for all your news and highlights.



Source link