Who won the last Open Championship at St. Andrews?

This will be the first time since 2015 that the Old Course at St. Andrew’s hosts The Open Championship. Who won the tournament that year?

The final major of the year will be taking place at one of the most iconic golf courses in the entire world. The Old Course at St. Andrew’s will play host to the 2022 Open Championship.

Over the years, the Old Course has seen its fair share of champions walk off the green at No. 18. The British Open Championship has been played at St. Andrew’s 29 times with the first being played there in 1873.

PGA Tour greats like Seve Ballesteros, Jack Nicklaus, Bobby Jones, Sam Snead, and Tiger Woods have all won a British Open Championship while playing the Old Course. But who was the last player to win the prestigious event at St. Andrews?

Zach Johnson was the last player to win The Open Championship at St. Andrews

America’s Zach Johnson, who will captain the U.S. Ryder Cup squad next fall, was the last winner of The Open Championship on the hallowed ground at St. Andrew’s. It took four extra holes, but Johnson walked away victorious with his second major championship.

In 2015, Johnson, along with Australia’s Marc Leishman and South Africa’s Louis Oosthuizen finished up 72 holes of golf all knotted at 15 shots under-par. A four-hole aggregate score playoff was held to decide the winner.

Johnson took a one-shot lead over Oosthuizen on the second hole of the playoff and never looked back. All three competitors bogeyed the third hole of the playoff and pars from the trio at the last hole saw the Claret Jug in the hands of Zach Johnson. This was his first major championship since the Iowa native captured The Masters in 2007.

Zach Johnson became the just sixth golfer in the history of the sport to win a major at both Augusta National and the Old Course. This week, he’ll be looking to become the first player since Tiger Woods in 2005 to repeat as champion at St. Andrews.

For more from The PGA Tour, make sure to follow FanSided and stay tuned to our golf hub for all the latest news and results.

Source link